» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Gaydar Reviews

Gaydar image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 9 reviews)

Category: Gay Dating Websites (AKA Gay Dating Sites)
Website: http://gaydar.co.uk



Editor's Review Costs & Features User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(1.4 Stars) based on 9 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Chances of getting a date:
Features:
Quality / Size of Members' Photos:
Help Files / Technical Support:
Ease of Use / Navigation:
Ease of joining / Registration:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
0 Reviews
4 Stars
1 Review
3 Stars
0 Reviews
2 Stars
1 Review
1 Star
7 Reviews

Only 11% of Users Recommend it



9 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 9 of 9
Not exactly dead, but not out of ITU either!
06 October 2019
Reviewer: Wardour from Plymouth, UK

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

GAYDAR was a pioneer and 'the' go to site to use for many years. It was bright, cheerful, visually attractive and looked and was easy to navigate. It was intuitive, logically laid out and so easy to use it was very engaging. However a couple of years back they upgraded it and in the processed almost totally destroyed it.

I'm sure some flash London lads with sharp suits and gelled hair thought the changes were cutting-edge and 'totally brilliant', but to the majority of customers they missed their remit by a country mile. They decided to start from scratch rather that replicate than build on they had already achieved. Importantly they believed their own hype and based everything (it seemed) on being under 25, wealthy, being out and proud and living in London or a large city. Unfortunately they disregarded those customers who were over 25, not out or living in towns or villages where discretion was important to them. Their new GPS location search feature might be great for lads in central London to track each other down, but disastrous for those who lived in very small postcode areas. To put your postcode in if you live in a village/hamlet... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Lost most of the regular people, membership is too expensive
12 January 2019
Reviewer: Dragonspaced from Uk

9 of 17 people found this review helpful

I used to be a member, then the long awaited upgrade took ages and then didn't work at all. all my old messages got lost.

At least the site now works ( 2019 ) but most people have now left and gone elsewhere ...
it isn't worth the money to upgrade unfortunately.

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Very Disappointing
09 August 2018
Reviewer: Boredhat from Chelmsford, England

9 of 20 people found this review helpful

I rejoined Gaydar after several years only to find the site changed beyond recognition - it's very bland, unexciting and a waste of time & money. No sexual content and sweeter than vanilla. I have deleted my profile in protest at the loss of what WAS an extremely good, fun & sexy site (and easy to navigate), Unfortunately I think Gaydar has lost it's Mojo and I have nothing good to say about this rip-off site.

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


New site a shambles
30 May 2017
Reviewer: Dissapointed from UK

29 of 44 people found this review helpful

The new website is horrible and I have actually left Gaydar after so many years of fun and meeting people from here but since the change in their whole website the whole format has changed and you can no longer chat as it was before. Over the years Gaydar have played with the chatrooms and they became less and less every time with all the best rooms disappearing and now it is horrible and they took away everything that people were interested in.

Gayday was a front runner within the gay community but now with this new site change they have fallen so far behind they will never be able to make up the ratings behind Grindr etc which is what they tried to do. They were good at what they were but they have now got greedy and commercialised it to make everyone pay now. I used to pay every now and then so I did support Gaydar from time to time but now I have left as you have to be a paying member all the time to get into the site and others like Grindr are free.
What a shame.

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Make it cheaper but good website
30 October 2015
Reviewer: Sparks109 from Sydney, NSW, Australia

77 of 167 people found this review helpful

Making the commercial sections cheaper or the same cost as a normal member like other websites would be awesome.

Should put all members together and allow the pictures of members to enlarge.
The site is great and gay friendly and bi.
Just needs to improve a bit more.

In summary, I would recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


A haven for cyberbullies and internet trolls
16 October 2015
Reviewer: Herbyr from UK

69 of 159 people found this review helpful

Although in theory Gaydar claim to not tolerate inappropriate conduct in its chat rooms, my experience has been that its support team is simply unable to deal with the cyberbullies and trolls who all to often attack people verbally without provocation.

As a a former regular user, I have watched a number of individuals verbally abuse individuals and even make threatening remarks. I myself have always sought to uphold the spirit of the website which I think is to bring gay people to gather to chat and cruise. Unfortunately, I believe despite the fact that some users are decent people, the small minority of cyberbullies put many people off due to their getting away with abuse over and over again.

I simply believe the support team is so overwhelmed by these bullies (who in turn claim to be the victims themselves) that its website is out of control. As an educator, I teach e-safety on a daily basis and feel strongly that a website such as gayer has a social and moral responsibility to actively prevent bullies from flourishing in such environments. On the contrary, Gaydar seems more concerned about protecting its paying members at a cost. I believe in the... (Read the full review)

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Failed to keep ahead of the field
28 August 2013
Reviewer: Thumbsupthumbsdown from England

133 of 263 people found this review helpful

Gaydar USED to be a reasonable site with good free membership use including a limited number of daily messages/profile views.

However over the last few years (since they redesigned the site for other platforms) it has become a nasty unwieldy experience. The most unforgiveable of which becomes apparent from searching - you will turn up profiles that have not been accessed by their owner for in excess of 10 years. Yup. 10 YEARS.

No doubt keeping dead accounts live makes it appear they have a vibrant database. They should follow the example of planetromeo which has a policy of suspending accounts that have not been visited for more than 6months. (They can be reactivated but will not appear in searches.)

Sorry Gaydar, unless you carry out a root and branch redesign of your site you won't be getting any membership fees from me ever again.

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Never pay for this ridiculous site
01 March 2012
Reviewer: Frank from Europe

116 of 237 people found this review helpful

For me personally, this site is not worth a penny. When it comes to dating totally ineffective, and the people behind it (with regards to support) seem to be rather on the dull side.

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Gaydar review
30 December 2011
Reviewer: James from London

141 of 315 people found this review helpful

Used to be more of a friendly dating / chat site (in addition to the hook-ups), but more of a hook-up only site these days.

The design and features of the website are pretty good - good searches and online lists etc, but (with a few exceptions) the type of guys on it has gone a little downhill compared to the past!

In summary, I would not recommend Gaydar to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Gaydar.co.uk

or

« Back to the rest of our Gay Dating Websites Reviews